Our DWI defense lawyers offer free consultations. Call 763.323.6555.
Minnesota License Revocation Attorneys & Lawyers
If a driver is arrested for drunk driving, it will usually result in criminal charges and revocation of the driver's license to operate a motor vehicle. The length of the revocation, the availability of a limited license (work permit) and the requirements for license reinstatement will vary depending on the person's criminal history, whether or not they cooperated in submitting to alcohol testing, and the blood alcohol content level detected by the alcohol test.
Call us today at 763.323.6555 or contact us by e-mail to schedule a free consultation. Protect your rights if your license has been suspended.
Before a defendant can legally operate a motor vehicle after a license revocation, they must have their license reinstated. Reinstatement does not occur automatically and the driver must apply to have their license restored with Minnesota Department of Public Safety. To have your license reinstated, a defendant must pass a written exam and pay a substantial reinstatement fee.
Limited Driver's License
In Minnesota, person whose driver’s license has been revoked for an implied consent violation or DWI conviction may apply for a limited license to drive:
To and from a job, or for a job;
To chemical dependency treatment;
To provide for the educational, medical, or nutritional needs of the family; and/or
For attendance at a postsecondary educational institution.
However, the law requires a waiting period before a suspended driver may apply for a limited license. The waiting period is:
15 days for a first-time implied consent or DWI violator;
90 days for a second-time or subsequent violator who complied with the blood alcohol test;
One year for a person revoked for manslaughter or criminal vehicular homicide;
If under the age of 18, for twice the applicable period above, with a minimum of 90 days;
For twice the applicable period above, if the person’s blood alcohol content was .20 or more; and
An additional 60 days, if the license withdrawal involved use of the vehicle in commission of a felony crime or an injury accident.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you've been charged with a DWI, we know you have many unanswered questions. The sooner you involve an experienced defense attorney, the better able we will be to gather evidence and address other important elements of your case. Contact our Minnesota DWI defense firm now at 763.323.6555 to schedule a free consultation with one of our lawyers.
Client Testimonial: "I had a great experience working with the Brown Law Offices, P.A. I especially appreciated how Jason took the time to understand the history of my case and listened to all of my concerns. Jason always made me feel like my case was important to him and he took the time to answer all of my questions. His thorough research and quality writing resulted in a great outcome for me. Based on my experience, I would highly recommend Jason and his team."" - Karen B., Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Serving Clients Statewide
Our Minnesota license suspension defense lawyers represent clients throughout Minnesota, including the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Duluth, Rochester, Mankato, St. Cloud, Moorhead, Apple Valley, Blaine, Bloomington, Brooklyn Park, Burnsville, Coon Rapids, Eagan, Eden Prairie, Edina, Lakeville, Maple Grove, Maplewood, Minnetonka, Plymouth, Richfield, Roseville and Woodbury.
Contact the Brown Law Offices, P.A. by e-mail or call 763.323.6555 to schedule a free consultation with an experienced Minneapolis, Minnesota, license suspension lawyer.
Former Prosecutor • Former Criminal Investigator • Former Judicial Law Clerk
Free Consultation • Call 24/7 • Reasonable Fees • Credit Cards Accepted